How many islands does Greece have?

There are more than 6,000 Greek Islands but only around 230 are inhabited and about 80 have a population over 100.

About a dozen are major holiday destinations with another 20 having substantial tourist visitors.

There are six basic island groupings: the Ionian lie to the west and contain holiday islands of Corfu, Lefkas, Kefalonia and Zante.

The Cyclades are found in the central Aegean and include Mykonos and Santorini as well as lesser visited islands like Paros and Naxos.

To the east are the Dodecanese and major islands like Rhodes and Kos as well as smaller ones such as Symi and Patmos.

To the northeast is the Sporades group which includes Skiathos and the north Aegean group of Samos, Lesvos and Thassos.

To the south is Crete – big enough to be on its own.