Current Trends in Structural Biology. International Conference in Heraklion

“Current Trends in Structural Biology”, is organized together with the “7th International Conference of the Hellenic Crystallographic Association”, in Heraklion, on the beautiful island of Crete, Greece, on 19 – 21 September 2014.

This joint event will build on the FP7-Regpot project InnovCrete which is managed by the Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas, and on the well-earned reputation of previous HeCrA conferences.

The conference will feature talks by leading scientists addressing a broad range of questions at the forefront of current methods for structural studies, with a particular focus on Structural Biology.

The program will include formal oral and poster presentations, but also informal get-togethers and social functions designed to promote interactions, stimulate discussions and catalyze future collaborations.

All participants are strongly encouraged to submit abstracts of their most up to date research for consideration as an oral or poster presentation.

During the Conference the N. Oikonomakos Prize will be awarded.

Why Crete

Crete is the largest island in Greece. The spectacular natural beauty of its landscape, its sandy beaches and its mild Mediterranean climate attract visitors from around the world seeking rest, inspiration and to indulge in the original Mediterranean diet.

It is an island of unique interest renowned for its historic importance and archaeological sites of the Minoan civilization. Exploring the ruins of Knossos and Phaistos and experiencing the famous Greek hospitality promises a wonderful setting for networking with colleagues.

Cutting-edge research: The Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas (FORTH)

Crete is also known internationally for state-of-the-art research performed within a cluster of Universities and Research Institutions. This cluster includes the Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas (FORTH), established in 1983. FORTH is one of the largest research centers in Greece with well-organized facilities, highly qualified personnel and a reputation as a top-level research foundation worldwide.

The research and technological directions of FORTH focus on areas of major scientific, social, and economic interest, such as: Microelectronics, Lasers, Materials, Molecular Biology and Genetics, Biotechnology, Computer Sciences, Bioinformatics, Robotics, Telecommunications, Computational Mathematics, Chemical Engineering, Human and Social Sciences, Cultural Studies.

Invited speakers

  1. Terese Bergfors
    Uppsala University Biomedical Center, Sweden
  2. Matthew Blakeley
    Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL), Grenoble, France
  3. Francesca Cantini
    Center for Magnetic Resonance, University of Florence, Italy
  4. Zbigniew Dauter
    Argonne National Laboratory, Biosciences Division, Argonne, USA
  5. Trevor Forsyth
    Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL), Grenoble, France
  6. Gavin Fox
    Synchrotron SOLEIL, L’Orme des Merisiers, Gif-sur-Yvette, France
  7. Raimund Fromme
    Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Arizona State University, USA
  8. Carmelo Giacovazzo
    The Institute of Crystallography, Bari, Italy
  9. Max Felix Hantke
    Uppsala University, Sweden
  10. John Helliwell
    School of Chemistry, University of Manchester, UK
  11. Arjen Jakobi
    EMBL Hamburg – DESY, Germany
  12. Ronan Keegan
    STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxford, UK
  13. Alexandros Lappas
    Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser, Foundation for Research & Technology-Hellas, Heraklion, Greece
  14. Carlo Mariani
    ESUO & Department of Physics, University of Roma “La Sapienza”, Italy
  15. Anna Mitraki
    Department of Materials Science and Technology, University of Crete, Greece
  16. Abel Moreno
    Institute of Chemistry, UNAM, Mexico
  17. Garib Murshudov
    MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cabridge, UK
  18. Uwe Mueller
    Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, BESSY II, Macromolecular Crystallography, Germany
  19. Anastassis Perrakis
    The Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  20. Ian Robinson
    London Centre for Nanotechnology, UK
  21. Savvas Savvides
    L-ProBE, Ghent University, Belgium
  22. Leonid Sazanov
    Medical Research Council, Mitochondrial Biology Unit Wellcome Trust, Cambridge, UK
  23. Gerlind Sulzenbacher
    AFMB UMR, Marseille, France


You may also like...