Hotels and companies from Crete amongst the 24 Greek winners of World Travel Awards

Twenty four World Travel Awards 2015 were won by Greek hotels and a management company, including one on a global level, four on a European level and 18 on a national level during a glamorous ceremony held last Saturday in Morocco.

The award presentations were the highlight of the red carpet event which welcomed over 300 industry leaders from around the globe to the Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort in Morocco.

This year’s list of Greek winners includes:

World’s Leading Family Hotel 2015 – Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, Greece

European Category

Europe’s Leading Beach Hotel | Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Europe’s Leading Hotel Management Company| HotelBrain

Europe’s Leading Spa and Wellness Resort  | Aldemar Royal Mare

Europe’s Leading Villa Resort  | Porto Zante Villas & Spa

National Category

Greece’s Leading All Inclusive Resort | Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Greece’s Leading All Suite Hotel | Domes of Elounda

Greece’s Leading Boutique Hotel | Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel

Greece’s Leading Business Hotel | Hilton Athens

Greece’s Leading Conference Hotel | The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Greece’s Leading Destination Management Company | Mideast Travel Worldwide

Greece’s Leading Family Resort | The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Greece’s Leading Hotel | Hotel Grande Bretagne

Greece’s Leading Hotel Management Company | HotelBrain

Greece’s Leading Hotel Residences | Diamond Residences at the Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel, Crete-Greece

Greece’s Leading Hotel Suite | Presidential Suite @ Arion Resort & Spa, Astir Palace, Athens

Greece’s Leading Luxury All Suite Hotel | Domes of Elounda

Greece’s Leading Luxury Boutique Hotel | Katikies Hotel

Greece’s Leading Luxury Hotel | Villa Royal Blue Mansion @ Mykonos Blu Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Greece’s Leading Luxury Private Villa | Ravdoucha Epavlis Villas

Greece’s Leading Resort | Porto Carras Grand Resort

Greece’s Leading Spa Resort | Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso

Greece’s Leading Villa Resort | Porto Zante Villas & Spa

Seven consecutive years 

Abu Dhabi flag-carrier Etihad Airways has been awarded the title of World’s Leading Airline for the seventh consecutive year at the World Travel Awards (WTA) Grand Final 2015.

Also celebrating was Saudi Arabia’s Al Faisaliah Suites, which took the double honour of World’s Leading Luxury Suites Hotel and World’s Leading Hotel Penthouse, while InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort was recognised as the World’s Leading Luxury Resort.

In two special awards presented by the World Travel Awards Academy, Moroccan Minister of Tourism, Dr Lahcen Haddad, was recognised for Outstanding Contribution to the Travel & Tourism Industry 2015, while the trophy for World’s Leading Exemplary Hotel Personality 2015 was presented to Al Khozama Management Company Vice President, Hospitality Division, Mr Hussein Ali Hatata.

 Elite of international tourism

World Travel Awards President Graham Cooke said: “It has been an honour to recognise the achievements of the global hospitality sector here at the Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort in Morocco.

“Each of our Grand Final nominees has been recognised as a regional leader during our Grand Tour 2015, and this evening we were able to salute the best of the best – the elite of international tourism.

My heartfelt congratulations to each and every one of our recipients this evening, it is your hard work, dedication, initiative and investment that makes the tourism sector the success it is today.”

Best networking opportunities

Also among the winners was HNA Tourism Group, which walked away with the title of World’s Leading Integrated Tourism Group, while Frasers Hospitality took the title of World’s Leading Serviced Apartment Brand.

The title of World’s Leading Tourist Attraction went to the Las Vegas Strip, while World’s Leading Fully Integrated Resort was awarded to Cornelia Diamond Golf Resort & Spa.

In the technology sector, Atlantis, Paradise Island, took the title of World’s Leading Hotel Website.

WTA Gala Ceremonies are widely regarded as the best networking opportunities within the travel and tourism industry, attended by government and industry leaders, luminaries, and international print and broadcast media.

Ultimate hallmark of quality

WTA was established in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all sectors of the tourism industry.

Today, the World Travel Awards brand is recognised globally as the ultimate hallmark of quality, with winners setting the benchmark to which all others aspire.

Each year WTA covers the globe with a series of regional gala ceremonies staged to recognise and celebrate individual and collective successes within each key geographical region.

World Travel Awards celebrates its 22nd anniversary this year and is acknowledged across the globe as the ultimate travel accolade.

 Industry excellence

The brand aims to celebrate those organisations who push the boundaries of industry excellence.

The World Travel Awards global media partner network includes International New York Times, TV5Monde, CNBC Arabiya, Outlook Traveller, Khaleej Times, TTN, Best in Travel, Breaking Travel News, and Travel Daily News International.

World Travel Awards has a television audience of 300 million spread across 200 countries, while also reaching hundreds of thousands of print and digital readers each month through an extensive network of global media partners.

Tornos News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.