Greek Nominees for the ‘European Museum of the Year Award 2016’. Museum of Typography is one of them

The Archaeological Museum of Tegea in Tripoli and the Museum of Typography in Chania are among the 49 nominees for the European Museum of the Year Award (EMYA) 2016.

Organized by the European Museum Forum, which  operates under the auspices of the Council of Europe, the EMYA is awarded to a museum that has attracted and welcomed its visitors using high museum standards and innovative approaches. The award values museums whose development and innovation in terms of communication, presentation and interpretation have impacted museum standards within Europe.

The winners of the EMYA 2016 will be announced at the award ceremony traditionally closing the Annual Assembly of the European Museum Forum which will take place on April 6-9, 2016, in Tolosa and San Sebastian, Basque Country (Spain).

Museum of Typography

The Museum of Typography, situated in Chania, Crete, constitutes the life vision of its founder, Yannis Garedakis, founder and editor of the newspaper “Haniotika nea”. The Museum of Typography officially opened its gates in May 2005. Its collection includes hard to find, cast iron printing presses and other machines, as well as tools and objects that present the development of typography from birth, in the days of Gutenberg, up to our days. Rare books and newspapers, as well as the precious lithographies, travel visitors in the art of Typography.

The European Museum of the Year Award (EMYA) was founded in 1977 under the auspices of the Council of Europe, with the aim of recognising excellence in the European museum scene and encouraging innovative processes in a museum world which still took the more traditional view to focus exclusively on collections rather than on their use for the benefit of society.

According to its founder Kenneth Hudson, the most innovative and bold museum changes take place in new small scale museums with young professional and dedicated teams, that is why small regional or private museums which opened in the last three years or reopened after a major restructuring can equally take part in the competition along with national or state museums.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.