June 17, 2021



Greece to open its borders to 29 countries from June 15

The tourism ministry on Friday announced the list of countries for which Greece’s borders will be “open” from June 15, with flights permitted to land in Athens and Thessaloniki. In detail, the list of countries is as follows:

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Switzerland, and Finland.

The list of 29 countries was drawn up after a study of the epidemiological profile of the countries of origin of tourists and after taking into account Thursday’s announcements of the European Air Safety Agency (EASA), as well as the relevant proposal of the Infectious Disease Committee.

“Sample testing will be carried out on some visitors from the following countries. The existing rules continue to apply for all other countries. The list, which will be expanded starting on July 1, will be announced in time. In any case, the epidemiological monitoring and evaluation will be continuous,” the announcement said.

2 thoughts on “Greece to open its borders to 29 countries from June 15

  1. Haha! Sample testing! ie No Testing

    The original idea was that everyone had to have a test 72 hrs minimum before getting on plane.

    Personally I feel the EU should implement this but chickened…

    Also aircraft have highly sophisticated air conditioning and air circulation systems in a very confined space…..there is some air filtering but essentially you are in an air group of the nearest 7 seats. Whether the latest aircraft have sufficiently good enough air filtration systems to remove Covid-19 is an interesting question…suspect not..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.